hometown

There is a memory,
a feeling that I had forgotten
before even meeting you
I wanted to rest my head on your lap

the most familiar of grounds
a visceral reaction
that didn’t make sense
in the moment

but now it does,
well, to the hopeless romantic
of course it does

I drove from Florida to Pennsylvania
to sit uncomfortably
in my hometown,

rainy and cold,
it all feels the same

there is a grit
soap scum in the bathtub
gloom and edge
to this place

forgetting
and then remembering
where I am from

Leave a Reply

