Everywhere

I packed up the car,
fitting my red kayak in the passenger seat
and hit the road.

I was floating seamlessly
down the path I took the last time.

I paddled against the flow,
for hours.
Only to reach the last canal.

The current had no mercy
and I was left defeated
under a dock.

In the vulnerability of sinking and being rescued
is a familiar feeling.

A newborn being pulled out of the mother

I lost my shoes and my phone.
Left naked.

Nature is more powerful than my needs.
That river did not take into account that I wanted to go home,
that I was alone,
or where my car was.

From now on, I will submit.

Leave a Reply

